Pressing Forward

8 Sep
Today is one of "those" days. I am feeling "under the weather" and the last thing I really want to do is blog. I’ve been fighting with myself all morning; first, just to get out of the bed, and then, whether or not to write. I told myself all kinds or reasons and excuses of why I should not blog. You’re sick, you’re tired, you need more rest, your readers can go one day without an entry from you, and the list goes on….But the reality is that I have a choice to make. I can either allow my circumstances to hinder me, or I can press forward, accomplishing those things I said I would do.   

Yesterday, I blogged about being a river, being able to overcome barriers that stand in the way. Barriers come in all shapes and sizes. There are obvious barriers like a lack of money or a person with authority who may come against you. But there are also more subtle barriers like negative thinking and minor physical ailments. I think I am currently experiencing the latter.

For almost a week now, I have felt a cold or some kind of sickness trying to capture me. I have two book events within the next seven days, so I can’t afford to be sick. I’ve been medicating myself, getting rest, doing everything I know to prevent this thing from taking over. I am not sure whether or not I am winning the war with my body, but there is one thing I do know: I will not allow this thing to stop progress. Like the river, I may have to adjust, but I must keep on flowing.

I am reminded of Philippians 3:14. "I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus" (King James Version).

Sometimes and some days we will have to press. Things won’t always come easy or always make sense. Some situations will be harder than others. Some roads will be rockier; some hills will be steeper. Still we must press.

I live in a rural part of Georgia and one thing that amazes me are the dirt roads. There are many roads that are unpaved, composed of just dirt, sometimes even clay. When it rains, the dirt or clay gets wet and more difficult to drive on. In addition to the muddy roads, there are often swamps and ditches filled with water on either side of the road. It is very easy when driving on the slick, muddy, or wet clay-filled roads to lose control of your car and begin to slide. Ending up stuck on one of these roads happens often, and ending up in a ditch is very possible. What is even more interesting is that people actually live on these roads. They build their homes in the middle of nowhere on roads that at times are undrivable. And if you don’t know the area, it is very likely that you will end up on one of these roads. By the time you realize the road is unsafe, you are already too far along to turn back. Does this remind you of life?

Just as you would on a muddy, country road, in life you must press. You are too far along to turn back, so press. Your destination is up ahead. The road may be scary; there may be ditches and swamps surrounding you; you made be sliding the whole way through, but press. In the end, you have two choices: Press or get stuck. I know a lot of "stuck" people in this life; not moving forward, just standing still and watching everyone else pass them by. Will you join them or will you press. The choice is yours.         

Leave a Reply

