Under the Influence

13 Oct

I know it’s hard to believe, but there was a time in my life when I was the life of the party. Not that I am no longer fun to be around, but during my early to mid-twenties, I could shut the club down. Typically the uptight, studious person, but when tequila shots and fruity alcoholic drinks were added to the equation, “It was on like Donkey Kong!”

I must stress that my normal behavior has always been controlled and sensible. I can be very serious and intense, especially when I am pursuing my goals. With me sober at the club, you may as well have brought your mother along because I was completely uninterested and disgusted. But add liquor and BOOM! Instant social butterfly! A close friend of mine figured out that all it took was a little alcohol to motivate me to turn me from prude to party girl and from that point on, I was no longer allowed to leave the house on a Saturday night without tossing a few back.

Picture this: Me, at the club/bar/party, drinking like a sailor, smiling as if my life depended on it, flirting with every guy in my path, dancing until they turn the lights on and force everyone out the door. Yeah…I wish I had a video tape of it too. Completely under the influence of alcohol, I was no longer worried about my reputation, what people thought about me, or what problems awaited me back at home; it was all about enjoying the moment.

We are all under the influence of something or someone whether we recognize it or not.

Some of us use substances like alcohol or drugs, some are influenced by the people who surround them, others are easily swayed by religion, politics, or even knowledge. There are always factors in our lives that direct and navigate our actions, emotions, and thoughts.

My question today is this: What influences you?

What will cause you to get out of your comfort zone and do things you typically won’t do? What causes you to doubt yourself? What makes you stop worrying about all the “what if’s” and makes you start living? What changes your attitude from good to bad? What impacts your ability to get out of the bed every morning? What causes you to treat others the way you do?

The things that influence us can be positive or negative, as well as our actions that follow. The drunk, under the influence of alcohol, may make poor decisions that lead to unwanted consequences. Alternatively, the student, under the influence of knowledge, may become a scientist and discover a cure to a deadly disease.

Anything can influence us, including love.

What if we were under the influence of love? What would that look like? What repercussions would follow? How would our behavior changes towards ourselves and others? Would we decide not to cut someone off in traffic? Would it keep us from speaking harshly to a family member or friend? Would we support someone doing something positive? Would we offer a helping hand to someone in need?

I would much rather be under the influence of love than alcohol, money, lust, power, drugs, people or any other thing I can fathom.

Today I invite you to allow yourself to be overtaken by love. The truth is something is influencing you. The blessing is that you get to decide what that thing is…

2 Responses to “Under the Influence”

  1. Carmen October 13, 2010 at 10:11 am #

    Very insightful, very good.

  2. Abigail October 13, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

    I wotld rather love too

Leave a Reply

