Are You Really The Best?

14 Dec

The end of the year is often the beginning of polls, surveys, nominations, and selections of who and what was the best of the year. In November, my book, Kiss & Tell: Releasing Expectations, was featured as the Book of the Month for Jeweled Ministries. This honor included an online review of my book and blog talk radio show appearance. What I didn’t know at the time was that less than a month later, the five authors including myself whose books were featured during the year would then be up for the title of Jeweled Ministries’ Author of the Year.

I am now forced to ask myself, “Are you really the best?” The question drives me to reflect on my year as an author and the various efforts I’ve made to develop and grow in my profession.

What have I done this year that would make me so deserving of such a title?

Often, we cringe during award ceremonies as those who really aren’t the best (and not even close to it) receive the highest honor as if they earned it fair and square, realizing that most awards are about politics and popularity than actual recognition and achievement.  I don’t want to have a career based on phony and undeserved accomplishments; I want to know that everything I have been given is a result of the greatness that has been placed within me shining out into this world through my actions and words.

As I look back over this year, I have a lot to feel good about. I published two books this year (Kiss & Tell and Ready & ABLE Teens), I’ve participated as a guest or host on at least two dozen radio shows, appeared as an author or speaker at least 15 venues, started and maintained (for the most part) a weekly blog, participated in a national book tour, and served as the chairperson and coordinator of a literary festival. Is that a lot? Some in the industry would say no. But as an independent author who has been published for less than two years, I would say it’s a great start.

There is so much more that I have yet to do to achieve my personal goals as an author. As I look to the new year, I embrace it as an opportunity to move to the next level, to step farther away from my comfort zone, to do the things I was “too chicken” to do this year. I am not one for new year’s resolutions, but I am one for using the change in time to self-reflect, learn, and progress.

As we enter into the year 2011, I plan to be a better author than I was in 2010. I intend to be more devoted to my craft, to treasure the gift inside of me, and to use it the way God directs. I am not going to kill myself trying to be Super-Author, but I will give myself, sincerely and with abandonment to the leading of the Holy Spirit as He invites me to partake in the abundance that was always meant for me. I will press to be the best of the year that it is within my power to be, and allow destiny to have its way and shape the outcome of my career.

But before 2011 comes, there is still one matter to be dealt with….

Out of the five talented ladies being voted upon, am I the best? Well, that is up for discussion. Do I deserve an award? Maybe, maybe not. Am a good author? Definitely.

As for me, win or lose, the journey has only begun…

FYI – You can vote from now until December 26th for your choice of the JM Author of the year at http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/3X7J7MB

4 Responses to “Are You Really The Best?”

  1. Ayondela December 14, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    Wow….that’s all I have to say…great work, awesome food for thought…:)

  2. Abigail-Madison Chase December 14, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    Great Blog as always…….

  3. Jewel Williams December 31, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

    Dr. Wilson…is definately worthy to be honored. Your book Kiss & Tell has so much to offer many. Also, it is pleasing also to learn about the many accomplishments you have had in the 2010 year. May you have many successes in the upcoming year. Blessings!

  4. Adrienna Turner December 31, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

    This is great and want to read most of it on BTR show tonight on the Midnight Hour if you don’t mind. This needs to be shared, I know since I was nominated this year gracefully for three literary areas and blessed to take one home. Later, I wrote earlier that year before I discovered if I won or not, “Competitiveness to Completeness,” really entitled “Competitive Spirits”.

Leave a Reply

