A New Year’s Message: Starting Again

31 Dec

As we cross the threshold of 2011, we embrace the opportunity to start fresh. In considering my thoughts about a new year and the potential the reside within another chance, I was reminded of a devotional from my book My Business His Way called “Starting Again.” So for this week’s blog, I offer to you this devotional  which captures this moment in history. This is our chance to start again, to make things right, to move forward and leave the past behind. Let’s make 2011 our best year yet!

(Starting Again is an excerpt from My Business His Way Copyright 2008 A’ndrea J. Wilson. All Rights Reserved. Full book available for purchase at  https://www.createspace.com/3382375)

Starting Again

The Lord’s love never ends; his mercies never stop. They are new every morning; Lord, your loyalty is great. I say to myself, “The Lord is mine, so I hope in him.”

Lamentations 3:22-24 (New Century Version)

Even if we messed up yesterday, today is a new day with new mercies. We are unfaithful, but the Lord is always loyal. Because He knows us better than we know ourselves, He extends to us a new day and a new opportunity to get it right.

Sometimes we beat ourselves up because of the mistakes we’ve made in the past. Bad choices we made, time we let pass, sins we let overtake us. The good thing is that God does not treat us the way we treat ourselves. He is willing to forget all of our mistakes and separate them from us as far as the east is from the west (Psalm 103:12).

Maybe God told you to open this business five or ten years ago. Possibly, last year you didn’t move out in faith and make certain advances in your business that you were suppose to due to fear. Perhaps you ignored the call completely and did your own thing. In spite of your disobedience, God is still standing with wide open arms, welcoming you today to make the right choice.

Aren’t you glad we have such a merciful God? Jeremiah, the author of Lamentations was so relieved about the Father’s mercy that he says, “The Lord is mine, so I hope in him.” Knowing how faithful God is made Jeremiah want to wait on and trust in God. Knowing this should ignite the same feelings within us.

So now that you have been given a new day and another chance to do what is right, what will you do? Will you take advantage of the Lord’s mercy and set out to accomplish all that has been requested of you? Will you thank God for a second chance and getting moving? Will you forget your past and look towards a bright future? Or, will you waste another day being unfaithful and foolish? Will you assume you have another day and disregard the call of the Lord? Will you hold onto the things of your past and let them keep you chained to the old you?

Today when you awoke, the Lord presented you with grace and mercy to start anew. Yesterday is a distant memory and tomorrow is not promised. So praise God for His mercy and faithfulness. Make up your mind to start again, today.

Prayer

Thank You, my Savior, for Your faithfulness to me. Without Your grace and mercy, I would be lost. You didn’t have to give me another chance, but You did. I let go of my past because You already have. I choose today to start again. I will not waste another day in disobedience and regret. Tomorrow is not promised so I take time today to fulfill the requests You’ve made of me. I offer You all of me, Lord. Have Your way. In the name of Jesus Christ. Amen.

One Response to “A New Year’s Message: Starting Again”

  1. Abigail-Madison Chase December 31, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    Awesome blog as usual

Leave a Reply

