Blog Tour Week 1: Meet Deatri King-Bey

19 Dec

Coffeehouse Conversations will be interviewing an author each week. Interested authors should email me at drajwilson (at) gmail (dot) com. First up to the bat, the author of Santa’s Helper, Deatri King-Bey! 

Book Title, Author Name, ISBN:

Santa’s Helper by Deatri King-Bey 

ISBN: 978-1467970372

Purchase from the eBook from Amazon, Barnes & Noble. Purchase the print double header from Amazon, Barnes & Noble

Book Synopsis: Marybeth Write is a kindergartener on a mission many deem impossible—to see her dad marry their neighbor by Christmas. To accomplish this mission, she’ll have to go straight to the top—her grandmother and the big guy himself—Santa! A kid’s gotta do what a kid’s gotta do.

Five years ago when District Attorney Houston Write lost his wife to breast cancer, he began going through the motions of life without truly living. Then choreographer Sabrina Ingles moved in across the street and reignited a fire within him he thought was long gone. Now Houston is ready to live again and give his child the mother she deserves.

When Sabrina Ingles’ marriage went down in flames, she swore off relationships and the trouble that accompanies them. But how could she shield herself against the most adorable little girl ever? Marybeth quickly became a part of Sabrina’s heart as Sabrina’s undeniable attraction to Houston grew stronger. Guarding her heart against the type of man fantasies are jealous of has become a full-time job, but she refuses to be burned again.

Why did you write this book/What was the inspiration behind this book? We have a lot of cancer in my family, including breast cancer.  I’ve seen too many family and friends die from cancer when if it had been detected earlier, they had a much higher chance of beating it. If I can help increase awareness through writing a romance book, so be it.

What makes this book different from other books? For romance, it is rare to actually deal with heavy subjects such as breast cancer. Don’t get me wrong, in a romance someone may have died of cancer, but to actually have breast cancer be an integral part of the plot isn’t done. It’s considered too depressing to have in a romance which is a feel good genre. I’ve received numerous emails from readers saying they truly enjoyed the novel and the way I took a subject that can be extremely depressing and left them feeling uplifted and in love with the couple.

What’s the hardest part about being an author? For me it’s being me. I write romance and women’s fiction, but my writing doesn’t truly fit the mold for romance and women’s fiction. People tell me to switch to mainstream, but I don’t want to change my style to fit a certain genre. I did try for a while to write a traditional romance in order to challenge myself, but have given that up.

What do you love most about being an author? Hearing from readers that a story touched them in a positive way.

Who is your favorite author/What is your favorite book and why? Beverly Jenkins is my all time favorite author. Her historicals are educational and entertaining, and she’s also a great person. She mentors authors and is always ready to get out there and help others. As for favorite book, I have too many favorites. I think today my favorite book The Fire Rose by Mercedes Lackey. I love fairy tales, and The Fire Rose is the most original and intriguing spin of Beauty and the Beast I’ve ever seen.

What advice would you give aspiring authors? I started out in the publishing industry a decade ago as a developmental editor and love working with aspiring authors. Learn the writing craft and publishing business. Read my nonfiction book Become A Successful Author and visit the website monthly to read the contributors’ articles and ask questions. Get a mentor and be the best you can be.

What question or comment are you asked most frequently about your book? Santa’s Helper has only been out a few weeks and I haven’t received any questions yet, but I have received a lot of comments from women who have had breast cancer or know someone whose life has been touched by it. So far it’s all been positive. It’s truly humbling because I didn’t go into this to be thanked.

Do you blog? What’s your blog site address? What do you blog about? I have a few blogs. My fiction blogs (http://www.LLReaper.net and http://DeatriKingBey.com) I mostly interview other authors because I figure people get tired of hearing from me. LOL. They follow me on Facebook, so I use the blogs to introduce other authors and to make announcements about my novels. On my nonfiction blog (http://www.BecomeASuccessfulAuthor.com) I have gathered other individuals with knowledge of the publishing industry and once a month we share information that will help other authors along their journey to become successful authors.

What events/book plans do you have coming up? I just got my rights back to two of my titles, so I’m releasing them and getting blog tours ready for them. They are the 2008 Emma Award Winner for the Best Steamy Romance of the Year, Whisper Something Sweet, and Beauty and the Beast, which is my contemporary version of the fairy tale.

How can readers contact you?  My website http://DeatriKingBey.com has links to all of my websites and social media hangouts. Or you can email me at deatri @ deewrites.com (remove spaces)

A’ndrea, I just wanted to thank you for having me on today to visit with your readers. Happy Reading Everyone!

Deatri King-Bey

Leave a Reply

