Blog Tour Week 3: Meet Author Norlita Brown

2 Jan

It’s a New Year and a New Author is up to bat! Coffeehouse Conversations introduces you to a growing force in the literary industry. She is an author and a publisher, and you are sure to see her at the next major book event you attend. Meet Norlita Gholston Brown!

Book Title, Author Name, ISBN:

Sexual Suicide, Norlita Brown, 978-0-9826745-4-3

Book Synopsis:

Alyssa’s determination to keep one too many men leads her life on a path of self-destruction as she discovers the love triangle she thought she was in, has another party lurking in the background.

Ahmad’s faith is tested as battles greet him at his front door.  Now he’s faced with the decision to go to war or walk away defeated.

Quan, driven by anger will stop at nothing to become the last man standing, as he struggles with his own downfalls to save the life of a woman he helped to destroy.

Tiffany smiles sweetly, innocently at the faces of those who see her at the ending, while she knows that she was always a part of the beginning.

Find out how four people discovered suicide in the worst possible way…SEX!

CC: Why did you write this book/What was the inspiration behind this book?

This book was written for my readers.  I had so many people telling me that they loved Somebody Else’s Vows so much they couldn’t wait to see what happens next.  It was never my intent to do a sequel because I believe stories are told for a specific reason, at a specific time in that character’s life. I am glad that I listened to the readers.

CC: What makes this book different from other books?

I not only write for entertainment, I write for education and in so doing I always place nuggets in my work that forces the reader to think beyond the situation and learn from it.  I am a strong advocate for the preservation of the Black race.  Although, the knowledge that I pass on is beneficial to any race, it is definitely targeted for the uplifting of Black people.

CC: What’s the hardest part about being an author?

For me the hardest part is marketing the work, which includes building a fan base and encouraging readers to buy your book.  But not just buy, support, by that I mean don’t pass the copy to a friend encourage them to buy a copy from the author.  Every situation is different, and I do understand that not everyone can afford to buy the book. However, coming to events that authors have is support as well, and sometimes you may find that because you have, authors are willing to discount their work to you.

CC: What do you love most about being an author?

Moving people…emotionally.

CC: Who is your favorite author/what is your favorite book and why?

My favorite author(s) are Zora Neale Hurston and Toni Morrison.  They have both reached into our history and brought forth stories that are not only engaging but educational.  They have entertained us with our history while enlightening us at the same time.  Reading their works makes me want to strive to do and be better.

My favorite book would be harder to say because I love so many that I never took the time to evaluate which would be at the top of my list.

CC: What advice would you give aspiring authors?

Find your niche, your passion and if in all your searching you find that writing is the one thing in life that excites you, moves you and gives you purpose.  Then write as such and show it to us in your work.

CC: What question or comment are you asked most frequently about your book?

Am I Alyssa?  Is this my story?  Although I am flattered by the question, I often find myself feeling a little conflicted as well.  Alyssa is a woman who is flirting with temptation.  Will she cross the final line and completely disregard her vows, I don’t know.  I do know that I am that woman who is capable, but for other people to see me as a woman that is capable makes me wonder how I have carried myself.

CC: Do you blog? What’s your blog site address? What do you blog about?

Unfortunately, I haven’t picked up the habit of blogging, but don’t take your eyes off me yet because you never know what 2012 will bring.  I’ll be sure to keep you updated.

CC: What events/book plans do you have coming up?

At present we are scheduled to be at the Ladies of the Dove Literary Festival in Hinesville, GA that takes place in March. In April you can find us in Atlanta, GA for our very own, Essence of Me Book Release.  In truth, we want to be wherever you are, so visit our page at brownessence.com and take a look at the places we will be, if we haven’t hit your location, let us know and we will make every effort to meet you where you are.

CC: How can readers contact you?

I love to hear from my readers, so I hope they find me easily accessible at one of the following:

by email: norlitabrown@brownessence.com

by website: brownessence.com

by social media: Facebook – Norlita Gholston Brown,

by phone: (678) 852-0685.

I am open to hearing both positive and negative feedback, but I love what is constructive.  It helps me grow.

4 Responses to “Blog Tour Week 3: Meet Author Norlita Brown”

  1. Marian L. Thomas January 2, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    Great interview Norlita.

    • Norlita January 2, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

      Thank you, Marian. This is greatly appreciated.

  2. Yolanda King Stephen January 5, 2012 at 8:30 am #

    Thanks for the inside look into Sexual Suicide. That one word ‘suicide’ does definitely draw readers. I know I want to know more about the characters and how their sexual tendancies lead them down different paths.

    • Norlita January 10, 2012 at 7:13 am #

      Thank you for taking the time to read this interview Yolanda, and even more so for commenting. It is very appreciated. I hope that all of your questions are answered once it’s released.

Leave a Reply

