Blog Tour Week 4: Meet Lynn Pinder

9 Jan

Once again, Coffeehouse Conversations by Dr. A’ndrea J. Wilson brings you another opportunity to get to know an author who is making their mark in the literary industry. Up to bat next, a woman who wears a thousand hats! Welcome Author, Entrepreneur, Publisher, Radio Host, & Book Tour Coordinator Lynn Pinder!

Book Title, Author Name, ISBN:  Speak Life: Psalms of Hope in a Season of Darkness   Lynn Pinder    ISBN unavailable

Book Synopsis:  A collection of inspirational poems

CC: Why did you write this book/What was the inspiration behind this book?

I started writing this book through a tough financial season I was experiencing while living in Savannah, GA. The book was supposed to be a mini-book – just one long poem.  Then, just when I thought things in my life were improving and I had completed the book, the bottom seemed to fall out of my life and I found myself back in my hometown wading through a season of darkness so colossal that all I could do was cling to God’s word and my faith to stay sane.  During this season, I stayed for two months at a Christian shelter for homeless women and children.  The first month at the shelter, I was so overwhelmed that I couldn’t write at all, but as God healed my broken-heart, I was inspired to purchase a composition notebook.  Throughout the second month of my stay at the shelter, I began to write out praise songs that would flow out of my heart during my rest time at the shelter.

CC: What makes this book different from other books?

This book is different from other books because it shares a voice and experience that is uniquely mine.  However, it is quite similar to other Christian books – I think – as it inspires readers to reverence the Bible and grow their own relationship with Christ.

CC: What’s the hardest part about being an author?

I think the hardest part about being an author is dealing with other people’s perception of me.  I can truly say that my victory over this last dark season in my life freed me from the bondage of people pleasing.  Thank God!

CC: What do you love most about being an author?

I love writing.  Whether it is fiction or non-fiction, I love writing books that encourage people to live fuller lives in Christ.  I enjoy being able to use my writing gift in a way that glorifies God and inspire people to want to know God more.

CC: Who is your favorite author/what is your favorite book and why? 

This is a hard question for me.  I love to read and have so many favorite books; it is really difficult to choose just one. I love short stories.  J. California Cooper is probably my favorite short story writer. I started reading her books as a teen and was mesmerized by the way her characters stirred my interest and my heart.  My favorite book of the Bible is the Book of Psalms.

CC: What advice would you give aspiring authors? 

I think my advice would be specific to Christian authors because I believe the call on a Christian author’s life is very different than that of a secular author.  To Christian authors, I encourage them to practice Joshua 23:8 (cling to God) and to weigh every action they make in terms of their books through prayerful thought and scripture meditation.  Don’t get caught in the hype of the “idea” of publishing a book, get caught up in God’s spirit and allow God to use your book ministry in a way that glorifies Him – even if it means taking a direction that is so out of the norm or against the industry standard.

CC: What question or comment are you asked most frequently about your book?

This book is not published, yet.  So, I don’t haven’t received any questions as of yet. However, I do have another collection of poems and short stories that I published in 2008.  The most common question people ask me about that particular book is whether any of the characters represent true occurrences in my life.  I always tell people that every fiction story has a little bit of truth in it.

CC: Do you blog? What’s your blog site address? What do you blog about?

I don’t blog as much as I would like.  My personal blog is http://takeactionnetwork.blogspot.com. I started this blog in 2005.  The purpose/intent of this blog has drastically changed over the years.   It is now a space online where I post my personal reflections and share inspirational videos, poems and writings by other people.

CC: What events/book plans do you have coming up?

I am excited about participating in and coordinating the 2012 Fellowship of Believers:  Christian Authors on Tour (CAOT) (http://2012fellowshipofbelievers.blogspot.com).    The 2012 CAOT Tour includes more than two dozen Christian writers on FIRE for God and committed to using writing as a tool for Christian ministry.  Tour stops are scheduled throughout the country and include the 2012 Ladies of the Dove Literary Festival in Hinesville, GA and the 2012 Harlem Book Fair in Harlem, NY.

CC: How can readers contact you?

The best way to contact me is to visit any of the following websites:

http://lynnrpinder.blogspot.com

www.thetakeactionnetwork.com

 

One Response to “Blog Tour Week 4: Meet Lynn Pinder”

  1. maxine cunningham January 9, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    Looking forward to having my own copy of this new collection of poems. I highly recommend Psalms of the Daughter. Praises for what God has done for Lynn and what God is doing through her. D’Andrea, thanks for providing vehicle for spreading the word about this forthcoming book.
    .

Leave a Reply

