Blog Tour Week 5: Meet Quiniece Sheppard

16 Jan

Coffeehouse Conversations brings you another committed author who is actively growing her book ministry. Up to the plate, meet author and organizational leader Quiniece Sheppard!

Book Title, Author Name, ISBN:

Book Title:  Before the Lights Go Out:11 Keys to Achieve Real Physical Intimacy

ISBN-10: 0741465353

Also is the 6 Month Covenant Challenge Journal to Before the Lights Go Out.

ISBN-13: 978-0741465344

by Quiniece Sheppard

Book Synopsis:

If your idea of foreplay includes candlelight dinner, rose petals and whip cream, you are misguided. We have been focusing only on the physical while we are neglecting the emotional and spiritual needs of our mate. This neglect has lead to dissolving relationships, conflicts in the marriage, and internal struggles. In Before the Lights Go Out, I outlined eleven keys to enhance foreplay, which will develop the intimacy in your relationship, thus allowing you to form a tighter bond with your mate. For single ladies, it is a guide to help you choose the ideal man for a queen like you because any man won’t do. In other words, what is he bringing to the table besides himself? For married couples, this book will force you to look into introspection: examining yourselves and retrospection; examining your past to see where you went wrong and what you can do going forward to fix it. The key to a long lasting relationship is establishing intimacy, which mean knowing if he/she is “into you”: body, mind and spirit. We will leave the lights on a bit longer to begin the emotional and spiritual journey towards a better you and a better relationship with your mate.

 

Why did you write this book/What was the inspiration behind this book?

The inspiration behind this book came from a vision that God gave me to write a self- help book to help people mend their broken relationships and bring the unity and commitment back to their relationship. There is a high divorce rate right now and people are having a difficult time staying together.  Besides this, people are looking for love everywhere: on the dating sites on the internet, reality television dating shows, social networking sites, etc and this book shows us what the biblical requirements are in regards to dating and how to find our soulmate.  It also shows us what real intimacy is all about.  It is a much needed book especially in a time like this where relationships are dissolving at an alarming rate.

What makes this book different from other books?

After reading Steve Harvey’s book, Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man, I was convinced that God wanted me to write this book to give people real, godly principles on dating from a biblical point of view and not a worldly point of view that many of us have been getting from television and the internet.  We have adopted too much of the worldly ways in us and that is why we choose the wrong mate for our lives and why women are settling for less and compromising their values because they’re tired of waiting and going on dates, so they just choose any man rather than a godly man. Romans 12:2 tells us to “be not conformed to this world, but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind that we may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God”.  This book teaches us to transform our way of thinking.  If we change how we think, then we will change how we act.

What’s the hardest part about being an author?

The hardest part of being  author is that I have to make sure I write about the things that God tells me to write and say what he wants me to say. For my book to be effective and help bring deliverance, salvation and healing to others, then I must be in tune with the word of God and not just write something just to be writing.  There is power in our words which is why the bible tells us that life and death are in the power of our tongue so we have to be mindful in what we say and how we say it.  That’s always a challenge for me because I want to be sure that I accurately represent Christ as people are looking for someone who can be real and transparent with them and be truthful.  I try to do that through my writing.

What do you love most about being an author?

I love meeting people and networking.  It is great when others recognize who you are and praise your work, but meeting new people is exciting because I get to talk about my book, which is my passion and purpose that God placed on me.  Talking about my books also allows me to talk about my favorite topic: Jesus.

Who is your favorite author/what is your favorite book and why?

I’m not sure if I have a favorite author as I’ve read a lot of great books, but what comes to mind right now is a book I read by Hill Harper called “The Wealth Cure” that really made me ponder and think about things.  It really was enlightening.  I’ve read several of Hill Harper’s books and you can always count on him to write good, substance, quality books that will make you think and react.

What advice would you give aspiring authors? 

I have a lot of advice for aspiring authors as there is so much to know about publishing, but the main advice I can give them is to know who you are writing to.  It is so important to know your target audience and how you plan on reaching them.  So many authors write books and have no idea who they’re writing to and getting their book out is even harder for them because they have no idea on where to start.  Having a little bit of a marketing background, it was clear to me who I was writing to, the purpose I wanted them to get and where to find those people.  This is such an important part of the publishing process.

What question or comment are you asked most frequently about your book?

I’m always asked about the titles of my book because they both have unique titles.  My first book is titled “The Seven Deadly Sexual Sins” and my second book is titled “Before the Lights Go Out:11 Keys to Achieve Real Physical Intimacy”.  The first book being a book of deliverance and the second is a book about intimacy.  Two totally different books, but centered on one topic: Jesus. They always draw people’s attention, which is a good thing.

Do you blog? What’s your blog site address? What do you blog about?

I have a book club that I started as a way to support African American self-published authors like myself and it’s called “Chasing Books Christian Book Club”.  I know how difficult it is for new authors, like me, to get our books out there, so I started this book club as a way to support our own people of color and to recognize that self-publishers have written great books and just because their book is not on the bookshelf doesn’t mean it doesn’t deserve to be.

What events/book plans do you have coming up?

On 1/15/12, I have a writers teleconference to help authors and writers with the publishing and marketing process.  Registration is $10 and participants will also get a handout as well. I’m sharing what I know and have learned through writing and publishing my books with others so they too can have access to the resources that they might not have known about.  Also, on 4/14/12, I will be holding my 2nd annual worth the wait women’s conference in Columbia, MD.  Those who are interested in either or both events can register at my website at http://www.iamthechase.com

How can readers contact you?

Readers can contact me via my website at www.iamthechase.com or the book club website at www.chasingbooks.com I do speaking engagements, book signings, speak at book clubs, schools, conferences or whatever venue they would like for me to appear.

Leave a Reply

