Blog Tour Week 7: Meet Nakia Laushaul

7 Feb

Once again, Coffeehouse Conversations, introduces you to another fabulous author that you NEED and WANT to know! Now at bat, a woman who writes fiction and poetry, and whose recent novel you won’t want to put down! Meet Nakia Laushaul!

Book Title: Running From Solace

Book Synopsis:

2011 USA BOOK NEWS BEST BOOKS AWARD WINNER

“She passed a hard candy over her shoulder as though whatever was in the tiny wrapper was supposed to make it all better. I clutched the peppermint in my hand and buried my face in the hard leather seat while she explained what was going to happen to me. She promised that I’d be safe from then on.”

And so begins the journey of Naomi, whose amazing story picks up where the past and future intersect. As Naomi struggles to hide the ugly physical and emotional reminders of yesterday that insist on haunting her dreams, she crosses paths with a young boy, Xavier and his quick-tempered mother, Mona, who both share an interesting story much like her own.

Running from Solace is an emotional tale which will send you catapulting on a breathless journey beyond breaking points and will finally lead you to believe in the power of accepting what is to be.

CC: Why did you write this book/What was the inspiration behind this book?

NL: I didn’t chose to write this particular book, Running from Solace chose me. Issues that deal with the family and generational curses tug at my heart. I think it’s time for some serious self-reflections in our society today. I hope someone will take a look at my characters—relate and change. We have got to do better for our children.

Every ten seconds a report of child abuse is made in the most developed, culturally enriched and powerful country in the world—The United States.

CC: What makes this book different from other books?

NL: Unfortunately Naomi’s story is not new. The difference is that I’m telling the story like I see it from three different perspectives, an adult living with the aftermath of abuse, an abusive mother and an abused child. Have you ever wondered what goes through an abusive mother’s head? Read the book. Mona will tell you.

CC: What’s the hardest part about being an author?

NL: Not having enough time to do the part I love the most—write. Crazy me for wanting to send my books out into the world. I didn’t realize how precious my time used to be until I started using it all up. I’m working on balance now. I have to, because I’m still a mom and that job comes first.

CC: What do you love most about being an author?

NL: The readers (heart smile). I published my first book two years ago and I still haven’t gotten over the amazing connection authors have with readers. I depend on them, not to just buy my books, but for encouragement. And motivation, lol. There’s nothing like an impatient reader waiting on your next book.

CC: Who is your favorite author/what is your favorite book and why?

NL: I have so many favorite books spanning over my lifetime. Depending on where I am in my life and the book that speaks to my situation—it’s my favorite book of the moment. The book that changed my life and ensured that I would most certainly become a writer one day was, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Dr. Maya Angelou. I read it when I was nine years old and instantly a fire was lit inside of me.

CC: What advice would you give aspiring authors?

NL: Take the constructive feedback and use it to make your work better. I know it stings, but before you discount everything someone is trying to tell you just let it marinate. Sleep on criticism and when you wake up try to look at your story from the reader’s perspective. And never give up—slow and steady wins the race.

CC: What question or comment are you asked most frequently about your book?

NL: How did you come up with this story. Lol, people take one look at me and deem me too innocent looking, too nice of a person to have written complex-crazy characters like Nola, Mona and the other characters in the book.

CC: Do you blog? What’s your blog site address? What do you blog about?

NL: Yes, I’m a blogger. Sometimes I have something to say that has to get out of me and into the world immediately, and I publish it instantly on Random Rants of Truth of a Social Butterfly: http://nakialaushaul.blogspot.com

CC: What events/book plans do you have coming up?

NL: I’m currently working on a new book where I’m looking at generational curses from different perspective. It should be available to you by early fall.

CC: How can readers contact you?

NL: I’m super social so I’m on most social media sites: Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIN and Pintrest or my website. Let’s friend up!

 

Leave a Reply

