Blog Tour: Meet Raynetta Manees

11 Nov

I haven’t featured an author on my blog in a while due to my chaotic schedule, but it’s always nice to take a break from time to time and meet someone new in the literary industry. With that being said, Coffeehouse Conversations introduces you to author Raynetta Manees.

Book Title, Author Name, ISBN:

Wishing on a Star by Raynetta Manees ISBN: 978-0-9855324-1-3

Book Synopsis:

It’s a writer’s dream come true! Best-selling romance author Natasha Logan is on her way to Hollywood to pen the screenplay of one of her books. And her co-writer is none other than celebrated triple-star threat comedian/writer/director Woody Hollister. Once there, Natasha’s life begins to rival her fiction when Woody takes her to Las Vegas to celebrate their movie deal. Something is definitely sizzling between them, but Natasha’s determined to keep it on the back burner until the screenplay is finished.

Then Natasha meets sexy pop superstar Ric Weaver, and her perfect scenario falls apart. Ric was the inspiration for her latest bestseller–the champagne pouring; sweet talking heart throb who now sweeps her off her feet with sensuous kisses and promises of love. Suddenly she’s the real life heroine of her own novel–melting in the arms of this dashing playboy, who has just been cast to star in her film.

But finding out where her true heart lies follows no rule of romance Natasha has ever known. Choosing between two men she really cares for can be as scary, exhilarating and seemingly impossible as Wishing On A Star….”

CC: Why did you write this book/What was the inspiration behind this book?

RM: Wishing on a Star was my second novel. My first novel, All for Love, was greeted with much positive attention from critics and readers alike. My dreams of being a successful published author went into overdrive. The heroine of Wishing on a Star is a romance novelist. All of my books are based on some aspect of my life that I took to the next level by saying to myself “What if.…” Wishing on a Star is an expression of my dream to have one of my books made into a movie—and an expression on a crush I had on two popular entertainers. (And I’m not saying who! LOL)

CC: What makes this book different from other books?

RM: Wishing on a Star is a rare romance because there are essentially two leading men. The book is about a love triangle between Shay, Woody, and Ric. If I’ve done my job right you’ll be in suspense until the very end as to which man—if either—Shay finally picks.

Naturally, with that scenario as a basis, there are some pretty volatile scenes between these three characters!

CC: What’s the hardest part about being an author?

RM: Deadlines.

CC: What do you love most about being an author?

RM: Having a reader tell me my writing affected their life in some positive way. I’ll never forget an incident that happened years ago at a Black Romance convention. A bunch of writers and readers were sitting around talking on the hotel patio. Somebody had brought up a very serious subject and we were discussing it. I made the comment that writing romances seemed insignificant in comparison to people working on that problem. One of my readers said, “Oh, no, you shouldn’t feel that way. What you do is important, too. You make people happy.”

CC:Who is your favorite author/what is your favorite book and why?

RM: I love so many books by so many authors I can’t narrow it down to just one in either category.

CC: What advice would you give aspiring authors?

RM: Don’t let rejection from publishers make you give up. Sure, it’s a big letdown, but it happens to everybody (except maybe Stephen King!). My first novel got rejected seven times before it sold. I read that Dr. Seuss, the great writer of children’s books, got rejected 27 times before he sold his first book.

CC: What question or comment are you asked most frequently about your book?

RM: “Where do you get your ideas?” The answer is: From some event that has really happened; if not to me personally, to somebody I know or know of. I take that as a starting point and build from there.

CC: Do you blog? What’s your blog site address? What do you blog about?

RM: I do have a blog: “Raynetta’s World of Romance” (www.RManees.com).

I focus on subjects that are of particular interest to women, especially African American women.

CC: What events/book plans do you have coming up?

I will be participating in a joint holiday book sale with several other sister African American writers. The book sale will run from Thanksgiving 2012 until New Years 2013. Several authors have already signed up for the sale, but the list of participants is not yet finalized. I will post more detailed information about the sale on my website, My Facebook author page, and my Amazon author page (Raynetta Manees page on Amazon.com) as Thanksgiving approaches.

I am working on editing my novel, All for Love, for release as an eBook shortly after the first of the year.

I am also working on a brand new fiction novel, as yet untitled, for release it late 2013 or early 2014. This book will be my first to be released simultaneously as a paperback and as an eBook. It will be my seventh paperback and fifth eBook.

Finally, I’m working on my first non-fiction book, based on some very personal events that I am experiencing right now. In fact, I won’t know how the book will end until November 30, when I get the final piece of information. This book will cover a topic of deep importance to millions of people. I have high hopes that the book will be well received.

CC: How can readers contact you?

RM: I welcome reader comments and questions. I can be reached via: My website: “Raynetta’s World of Romance” (www.RManees.com) Facebook: Raynetta Manees Facebook Author Page (facebook.com/raynetta.author)

Email: RManees@aol.com Twitter: @raynettaman

“Snail Mail:” PO Box 3203, Southfield, MI 48037

CC: Thanks, Raynetta, and best wishes to you on your most recent title.

2 Responses to “Blog Tour: Meet Raynetta Manees”

  1. rmanees November 17, 2012 at 7:13 am #

    Thank you, A’ndrea! Best Regards, Raynetta

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Raynetta Manees Interview at “Coffehouse Conversations” | Raynetta Manees, Writer & Novelist - November 19, 2012

    […] Raynetta Manees Interview at Coffeehouse Conversations * […]

Leave a Reply

