Guest Spotlight: Marvelous Are Thy Works by Meiah Shaun

19 Dec

For all of you ladies inspired by the natural hair movement, our guest spotlight is on an author hoping to help you love your hair and yourself. It’s my pleasure to welcome Meiah Shaun and her novel, Marvelous Are Thy Works!

Book Title, Author Name, ISBN:

Marvelous Are Thy Works, by Meiah Shaun, ISBN-13: 978-1500398033,

Book Synopsis:

book cover(2)Fatima Williams is a natural hair stylist and the owner of All Natural Hair Salon in Washington, D.C. Her best friend Lauryn and her cousin Sheba are her business partners. Fatima wants to empower African American women by hosting speaking engagements about the natural hair movement. She desires to travel nationally spreading her message. Lauryn and Sheba will not commit to Fatima’s business proposal. They have their own plans for their careers.

Fatima’s boyfriend Ephraim of five years is too busy climbing the corporate ladder and has not proposed to her. The best season of her life is turning into a lonely one as her inner circle has dwindled.

Marvelous Are Thy Works is an inspirational story about natural hair empowerment, self-love and relationships.

CC: Why did you write this book/What was the inspiration behind this book?

MS: My inspiration behind Marvelous Are Thy Works is that I love empowering African American women to accept and wear their natural hair.

CC: What makes this book different from other books?

MS: My book is unique because there aren’t a lot of fictional books with a natural hair theme. There are numerous books about natural hair care discussing products, styling and maintenance. My story allows readers to experience the day and life of 3 natural hair stylists with their clients and their personal lives.

CC: What’s the hardest part about being an author?

MS: The hardest part about being a self published author is the promotions if you’re not prepared with a marketing plan.

CC: What do you love most about being an author?

MS: I love inspiring and empowering others with words of encouragement and entertaining my readers.

CC: Who is your favorite author/what is your favorite book and why?

MS: Lori Tharps is one of my favorite authors. I read her book Kinky Gazpacho a few years ago while in graduate school. As a grad student, I was transitioning into wearing my natural hair. Lori Tharps’s wrote about her childhood and traveling abroad to Spain. She revealed how she was perceived by her brown skin and kinky hair texture while living in Spain.

Lori Tharps also co-authored Hair Story, Untangling the Roots of Black Hair in America with author, Ayana Byrd. The book educates readers about the culture of African hair and the history of it in America.

CC: What advice would you give aspiring authors?

I advise all aspiring authors to find a writer’s group to join for support.

CC: What question or comment are you asked most frequently about your book?

MS: I have been thanked by African American women in the natural hair community for spreading a positive message about self love and the natural hair movement.

picCC: Do you blog? What’s your blog site address? What do you blog about?

Yes, I blog on my Facebook page. I often speak about natural hair topics and I post excerpts from my book. You can visit and like my Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/meiahshaun

CC: What events/book plans do you have coming up?

MS: I am networking with natural hair meet up groups in my area. I plan to attend more natural hair events.

CC: How can readers contact you?

MS: Readers may contact me by email: meiahshaun@gmail.com.

Visit me on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/meiahshaun

Follow me on Twitter: @MeiahShaun or https://twitter.com/MeiahShaun

Visit my Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC0Gy6aVV2UXuGe7q973gujw

CC: Thanks, Meiah, for stopping by! I look forward to checking out your novel soon!

About the Author

Meiah Shaun is an inspirational author and freelance writer. She is a graduate of LeTourneau University. She is a native of Orange, Texas and currently resides in Plano, Texas.

Meiah Shaun is the author of Marvelous Are Thy Works, a novella. Meiah Shaun has a special interest in empowering African American women to self love and to embrace their natural hair. She and her twin sister rock Sisterlocks. Her fraternal twin sister is thirteen minutes older than her.

Meiah Shaun is featured on Ezinearticles.com as a platinum level author penning articles on numerous topics such as inspirational, spirituality, goal setting to shopping and product reviews.

Meiah Shaun enjoys writing, reading, cooking, jazz music and making scrapbooks.

PH Marvelous

One Response to “Guest Spotlight: Marvelous Are Thy Works by Meiah Shaun”

  1. Author Meiah Shaun December 19, 2014 at 10:30 am #

    Thank you so much A’ndrea for featuring me while on tour with WNL virtual book tours! I greatly appreciate it and God bless! ~ Author Meiah Shaun

Leave a Reply

