Guest Post: April L. Minger’s Altars of the Heart

6 Jun

Looking for a way to deepen your relationship with God? April L. Minger stops by Coffeehouse Conversations to tell us about her book, Altars of the Heart, and how you can increase your worship experience!

Altars of the Heart by April L. Minger

Book Synopsis:

Do events from your past continue to play over and over in your mind? Do you feel like your relationship with God is not where it should be? Are you looking for a deeper worship experience?

If you answered yes to any of these questions, then I have some good news for you. The answer may seem far away, but it’s actually much closer than you think.

Altars of the Heart will take you on a journey to rediscover who you are and give you authentic tools to help you connect back to walking hand-in-hand with God through deeper worship.

The knowledge and insight that you will gain from reading this book will take you to a life of new-found liberation from insecurities, fear, doubt, shame, and un-forgiveness.

You will be encouraged to do an internal “heart” examination, to re-evaluate how you interact with others, make choices and worship the Lord.

The Word of God specifically states in the book of Hosea 4:6, that my people are destroyed for a lack of knowledge. I issue a challenge to you to open this book, and allow your life to experience freedom from bondage and finally discover your path to deeper worship.

Open this book, and let’s have a heart to heart conversation!

CC: Why did you write this book/What was the inspiration behind this book?

AltarsoftheHeart_Front_Cover_FINALAM: I was doing a study on the life of Abraham, and that study led to a personal interest in the altars in bible. Because of this interest I began to study the meaning and uses of altars in Scripture. My study opened my spiritual eyes to the connection between the altars in the bible and the spiritual heart of man. After doing the study on the altars in the bible and seeing the connection between them and the heart of man, I took my own journey of self-evaluation and self-discovery and after allowing myself to go through the process I knew I had to share. I wanted to share what I had learned and what I was able to achieve in my own walk with the Lord with others in hope of help others.

CC: What makes this book different from other books?

AM: It takes the reader on a journey of self-evaluation and self-discovery where they are able to understand why the events of their past continue to trouble them in the present. This book is not a cookie-cutter; one-size fits all approach, but rather an individual “guided tour” that helps the reader discover their own path to deeper worship. This book does not go through a step by step process where you are instructed through a series of steps, but rather a way in which you can tour your own heart to see what’s there. This experience is different for each reader.

CC: What’s the hardest part about being an author?

AM: For me it’s sharing a piece of yourself with others and then asking them to offer a critique. Your book is in some way a part of who you are, so you have to be able to welcome feedback and only give it the value needed to help you in your personal and or professional growth.

CC: What do you love most about being an author?

AM: I would have to say I love the opportunity I have to teach and help others through my writing.

CC: Who is your favorite author/what is your favorite book and why?

AM: I don’t really have a favorite author, but I do enjoy reading books written by: Joyce Meyer, John Eckhart, and John C. Maxwell. I like books that have a lot of biblical teaching and practical application. My favorite book right now is ‘Right People Right Place Right Plan, by Jentezen Franklin.

CC: What advice would you give aspiring authors?

AM: If you want to write, then do it! Don’t wait for the perfect time to start just start writing about what you are passionate about. Reach out to others who can help you fulfill your dream of writing; seek help from resources like writing and author coaches.

CC: What question or comment are you asked most frequently about your book?

AM: What was my inspiration for writing the book?

CC: Do you blog? What’s your blog site address? What do you blog about?

AM: No, I do not currently blog.

CC: What events/book plans do you have coming up?

photoAM: I am currently on a two month virtual book tour with Write Now Literacy and I believe that I will write a follow-up book to Altars of the Heart that will continue to help readers move forward in the journey process.

CC: How can readers contact you?

AM: I am on Facebook and Twitter. I also have my own website at: http://www.warriorforchristpublishing.com

Author Bio:

April Minger was born and raised in Springfield, Ohio. After graduating from high school, April joined the United States Air Force. April works in the Insurance and Health Care fields, and also has a Master’s degree in Business, graduating with honors, and is a member of the Alpha Beta Kappa Chapter of The National Honor Society. She currently resides in Fort Drum, New York, where her husband serves on active duty as a member of the United States Army. April and her husband of eighteen years have two children.

 

*April appears on Coffeehouse Conversations courtesy of Write Now Literary Tours.

PHALTARSOFTHEHEARTBANNER

 

One Response to “Guest Post: April L. Minger’s Altars of the Heart”

  1. April Minger June 6, 2014 at 9:12 am #

    Thank you for hosting me today, and allowing me to introduce myself. I appreciate this opportunity to present some information about my book to your readers.

Leave a comment